In Minnesota, you may face charges for drug offenses for the use, sale, possession, or distribution of a variety of different controlled substances. The drug charges you face will depend on the schedule of the controlled substance in question, the quantity of the substance, and the nature of your offense.
First-Degree drug offenses, which are the highest charges of drug crime and the most severely punished, usually arise from sale or possession of large quantities of Schedule I or Schedule II drugs. Minnesota’s drug laws makes manufacturing of any controlled substance a First-Degree drug offense. Lower degrees of drug offenses can be elevated to First-Degree drug crimes under certain aggravating factors. Without a lawyer for drug crime charges, you may face up to 30 years in prison and up to $1,000,000 in fines.
Second-Degree offenses are the sale or possession of controlled substances above a certain threshold. Each substance has its own threshold to be a Second-Degree drug crime, but that a lesser amount can be elevated to a Second-Degree drug charge under aggravating circumstances, like sale to minors or with use of a firearm. Less severe than First-Degree offenses, but still can earn up to 25 years of prison time and $500,000 in fines.
Third-Degree, Fourth-Degree, and Fifth-Degree crimes can occur much more easily with any amount of certain controlled substances, and minimum amounts of others based on the schedule and the circumstances.
Even without the possession or sale of any drugs, possession of precursor substances can be interpreted as an intent to manufacture and distribute.